THAT FACEBOOK HOAX
494 views
So Facebook thought of a way to reactivate the idle accounts of monitoring spirits it has in its database and it came up with this disingenuous notification that "Everything you have ever posted become public tomorrow bla bla bla……"
This is the kind of message Whatsapp circulated some months back, and which turned out to be a huge hoax. Now it is Facebook's turn.
Pray, is everything I ever posted since I joined Facebook not already public knowledge? Is Facebook not a public forum where information is shared? Is it not why Facebook admonishes us to know the kind of information we share? Is that not why it has rules on certain kind of stuff to share on the platform? Is it not why it is called social media? Can you share anything if you don't already have people to share it with? Facebook itself is founded on the idea of getting to meet people and making friends. Can this be possible if it was not a public forum?
Facebook also offers you options about who you want to see what you post – whether public, friends, friends of friends or only you. It has privacy setting too. So what kind of cheap con is this? For once, Mark Zuckerberg displays a lack of brilliance.
Facebook requires its subscribers not to share the notice but to copy and past on their walls. It warns that the deadline is "tomorrow" without giving exactly what date is tomorrow. This is a notification I have been reading every day since Monday this week. As a matter of fact I have just read one now. So which "tomorrow" should I take as deadline? Will "tomorrow" ever come?
Most subscribers are already hooked on Facebook; so they do not need to be further sucked in by this new trick. I believe that if Facebook is serious about this notice, it would have sent it direct to subscribers instead of requiring them to copy it from their friends' wall and paste. Unlike direct notification, copying and pasting brings some sort of activity on your timeline.
There lies the trick. The scam is targeted at people who don't operate their accounts. It is like the kind of text messages or emails you receive from your GSM network provider or your bank if you have not loaded your phone or operated your bank account for some time.
Whatever the case may be, I am not going to copy and past any yeye thing on my wall; let me see if Facebook will shut down my account.
Nonsense and ingredient!
